… something else entirely.

By J. K. McDowell

May 2015

Sometimes I dream of floating, other times of flying.

Clouds just look fluffy, I can feel their sharp edges.

And lightning cuts you in places you don’t know.

Sometimes I dream of floating, other times of walking.

I followed him off the boat and to the shore.

Sundown, fire on the beach and fresh fish with bread.

Sometimes I dream of floating, other times of diving.

Deep and eye to eye with the squid of my nightmares.

The flash of color and the tearing of flesh.

Sometimes I dream of floating, other times of dying.

The certain things in life are so comforting.

I woke this morning and I will sleep tonight.

Sometime I dream of floating, other times of forgetting.

There is so much beauty here; the greedy soul

Wants it all. Appetite or addiction and the difference?

Sometimes I dream of floating, never of poetry.

James, my eyes are wide open as you turn the

Desert mirage into something else entirely.

